Categoria: Seminari e Convegni
Stato: Archiviata
23 May 2017 - 3 pm

Intra-system EMI for Complex Electronics: A Journey from Order to Chaos

5th floor DAUIN meeting room (Dept. of control and computer engineering)

Lecturer: Prof. Z. Peng, University of New Mexico, NM, US

Seminar abstract:
In this talk, we present recent progress in the first-principles modeling and quantitative statistical analysis of complex electronics systems. The scientific contributions are twofold: (i) high-performance and scalable algorithms to conquer the computational complexity of extreme-scale simulations on massively parallel computing platforms; (ii) hybrid deterministic and stochastic formulations for the statistical characterization of the in-situ performance and system behavior. The work overcomes some key challenges in the intra-system electromagnetic interference (EMI) analysis of complex electronics in realistic circumstances, and significantly advance electromagnetic based computer-aided design (EM-CAD) for IC, electronics and microwave applications.

Prof. Z. Peng biography:
Zhen Peng is an Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of New Mexico. He was a Senior Research Associate at ElectroScience Lab, The Ohio State University (2010-2013). His research interests are in the area of computational science and simulation-based engineering with emphasis on electromagnetics, microwaves, integrated circuits and electronics. His research work has an impact on both civilian and commercial engineering applications, ranging from mmWave communications, reconfigurable antennas, RF/microwave devices, artificial materials, integrated circuits and optoelectronics.
He the receipt of 2017 IEEE Albuquerque Section Young Engineer Award, 2016 UNM ECE Department’s Distinguished Researcher Award, 2015 Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES) Early Career Award, 2014 IEEE Antenna and Propagation Sergei A. Schelkunoff Transactions Prize Paper Award and a number of Young Scientist Awards and Best Paper Awards from various conferences