Categoria: Call e bandi
Stato: Corrente
Scadenza 20 marzo 2020

Global Energy Prize

The Global Energy Association continues to accept applications for the Prize in 2020. Applications will be accepted until March 20th, 2020. Self-nomination for the Prize is not acceptable. The right to nominate candidates for the Prize is given to well-known and respected scientists.

Scientists from any country of the world can become the Global Energy Prize laureates. The Prize awards authors of outstanding researches and developments who made discoveries and technological innovations that help solve the most acute energy problems. Since 2019 the Global Energy Prize awarded in three categories: Traditional Energy, Non-Traditional Energy, New Ways of Energy Application.

The nomination process of the Global Energy Prize from nominating candidates to awarding laureates is exceptionally open and transparent. Self - nomination for the prize is not acceptable.
The list of persons entitled to nominate for the Global Energy Prize include the following scientists: the Global Energy Prize laureates, laureates of the Nobel Prize, winners of the prizes of Kyoto, Vax Planck, Wolf, Balzan, Sheikh Zayed, Energy Globe, Goldman Environment, UNEP Sasakawa Prize, members of the Russian Academy of Sciences and of foreign academies of sciences and scientists who have been verified as nominating persons by the Global Energy Association.
Additionally, energy experts can send an application to join the nomination pool. After the assessment and approval of their candidacy by the Association, they are vested with the right to nominate their candidate.

After determing the works admitted to the contest, the Association conducts their independent international assessment. Each work is evaluated by three experts. The work of experts is carried out according to international standards. By results of their work, experts draw up the acts of examination on the approved by the Association form. An average score is calculated for each nomination submission. On the next step, a short list is formed. The short list is usually announced to the public before the official announcement of the names of the current year's laureates. The final decision on the laureates’ definition is made by the International Award Committee, which consists of 20 outstanding scientists from 14 countries.

The objective process of selecting the Global Energy Prize nominees was recognized at the global level. The Global Energy Prize is included in the official list of the International Congress of Distinguished Awards (ICDA). In ICDA prestige rating the Global Energy Prize is in the category of ‘Mega Awards’ for its laudable goals, exemplary practices and the overall prize fund. According to IREG Observatory on Academic Ranking and Excellence, the Global Energy Prize is one of TOP-99 international academic awards with the highest prestige and significance. It is the only award from Russia included in the IREG list.
Since 2003 the prize has been presented to 39 laureates from 13 countries: Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Japan, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the UK, the USA.

Applications will be accepted until March 20th, 2020.
In order to learn the nomination rules, join the pool of nominees or apply, check out the official website of the organization.